East Africa


List of Convents

  • Ting’ang’a, Kiambu – Archdiocese of Nairobi
  • Mutito, Kitui Diocese
  • Mwingi, Kitui Diocese
  • Mulutu, Kitui Diocese
  • Chepchoina, Kitale Diocese
  • Sirende, Kitale Diocese


  • Huruvi, Kondoa Diocese


Our first SMG community was established in Kenya at the invitation of the late Bishop Wm Dunne in the Diocese of Kitui in 1985. Today we are well established and the number of our Kenyan Sisters is growing steadily.

Formation of our young Sisters takes place in Mwingi, while the Family Centre provides a wide range of services for the development and empowerment of children, youth and adults.

Our ministry in health care includes the provision of dispensaries and outreach clinics.

All our communities collaborate with the Church and other organisations in the provision of pastoral care and family support, as we focus particularly on women and children.

Sisters teach in local schools in Mutito, Mulutu, Mwingi, Ting’ang’a, Sirende and Chepchoina.

We gratefully acknowledge the sponsorship and assistance received from many individuals and agencies in the provision of our services in Kenya.



Right: Sr. Pauline with the pupils at Syombandu Primary School in Mutito.



Above: Sister Esther with children’s group- Pontifical Missionary childhood. The children take one year formation before they are received in to PMC group


Right: Sisters in Mutito during recreation time. They enjoy nature and are seen here tending to the flowers.

Below: Sisters in Mwingi visit women in Waita prison


Left:  Sr Catherine Muema working with the youth in Tanzania – Huruvi Parish.


Right: Sisters at the new convent in Tanzania